German host organisations

International networking is an important criterion for success. The management and administration of scientific institutions play a vital role in facilitating international cooperation of their researchers. The "ERA Fellowships - Science Management" action supports German scientific organisations and universities which host a EU13 fellow in establishing new or strengthening existing networks.

 

Application requirements

Eligible host organisations are non-university research organisations, research funding organisations and higher education institutions located in Germany. Based on a training concept they sign a cooperation agreement with the EU13 fellow covering a guest stay of between 8 and 12 weeks' duration. The application is submitted by the German host organisation. It comprises the training concept, the cooperation agreement, the host organisation’s consent to the fellow’s participation in the weeks on campus, a short CV (of the EU13 fellow) and the consent of the fellow’s employer at home to his/her taking part in the ERA Fellowships programme for the duration of the guest stay.

How much funding is provided?

Funding covers the following eligible expenses/costs, differentiated according to the length of stay (8 weeks at minimum, 12 weeks at maximum):

The German host organisations will receive a lump sum for material costs and personnel costs in the amount of  1,500 euros per month / 750 euros per half month. Travel expenses for host organisation employees who take part in events of the campus weeks may also be claimed. As a rule, the basic equipment of the participating organisations is not covered or supplemented by the lump sum. Since the ERA Fellowships action is intended to build and expand networks and does therefore not constitute an original research project according to the guidelines for the allocation of grants on an expenditure basis, no lump sum can be granted to universities and university hospitals.

The German host organisation is the sole grantee. It is charged with distributing the funds to their EU13 fellow and also with reimbursing his or her travel expenses.

Deutsche Gasteinrichtungen

Eine Frau, neben der ein Mann und eine Frau sitzen, reicht einer gegenüber sitzenden Frau die HandDie internationale Vernetzung ist ein wichtiges Erfolgskriterium. Dies gilt auch für das Management von Wissenschaftseinrichtungen als Wegbereiter für internationale Kooperationen ihrer Forschenden. Mit der Maßnahme "ERA Fellowships – Science Management" erhalten deutsche Wissenschaftseinrichtungen und Hochschulen, die eine/n EU13 Fellow aufnehmen, Unterstützung beim Auf- oder Ausbau von Kontakten.
 

Bewerbungsvoraussetzungen

Gasteinrichtungen sind außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen, Forschungsförderorganisationen und Hochschulen mit Sitz in Deutschland. Sie schließen auf der Grundlage eines Praxiskonzeptes eine Kooperationsvereinbarung mit den EU13-Fellows über einen Gastaufenthalt für die Mindestlaufzeit des Programms (8 Wochen) bzw. maximal bis zu 12 Wochen. Die Gasteinrichtung reicht den Antrag ein. Er besteht aus Praxiskonzept, Kooperationsvereinbarung, Freistellungszusage für die Zeit der Campuswochen, Kurzlebenslauf (EU13 Fellow) und einer Freistellungszusage des Arbeitgebers der EU13 Fellows für die Laufzeit des Gastaufenthaltes.

Wie hoch ist die Förderung?

Im Einzelnen sieht die Förderung folgende zuwendungsfähige Ausgaben/Kosten gestaffelt nach der Dauer des Gastaufenthalts vor (mindestens 8 Wochen, maximal 3 Monate):

Es wird eine Pauschale für sachlichen und personellen Aufwand in Höhe von 1.500 Euro pro Monat / 750 Euro pro halbem Monat gezahlt. Auch Reisekosten von Mitarbeitenden der Gasteinrichtungen, die an Veranstaltungen der Campuswochen teilnehmen möchten, können abgerechnet werden. Grundsätzlich nicht übernommen oder bezuschusst wird die übliche Grundausstattung der teilnehmenden Einrichtungen. Da es sich um eine Maßnahme zum Auf- und Ausbau von Netzwerken und somit nicht um ein originäres Forschungsvorhaben im Sinne der Richtlinien für Zuwendungen auf Ausgabenbasis handelt, kann keine Projektpauschale an Universitäten und Universitätskliniken gewährt werden.

Die deutsche Gasteinrichtung ist alleinige Zuwendungsempfängerin. Sie zahlt die Mittel an die Teilnehmenden der EU13-Staaten aus und erstattet auch deren Reisekosten.