ERA Fellowships - Overview

As part of the national strategy for the European Research Area (ERA), Germany is expanding its collaboration with the EU13 member states. These include Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia. The ERA Fellowships - Science Management action supports capacity building in the field of science management in the EU13 and sustainable networks between the EU13 countries and German non-university research institutes, research funding organisations and universities.

Time period:
8-12 weeks (including campus weeks) between 15 January and 31 October 2020. The guest stays in Germany must end by 31 May 2020.

Number of funded guest stays:
30 at maximum

Application period:
Applications follow a two-step process. Project outlines must be submitted by the host institutions to DLR-PT by 3 Juli 2019. After evaluation is completed, all successful applicants will be invited to hand in a full application.
The selected host institutions will be informed once the evaluation process is finalised.
Details of the application process are specified in the funding announcement for the ERA Fellowships.

Who is it for?

The action is designed for science managers (middle administrative management level) from research institutes, research funding organisations, universities or similar institutions in the EU13 states and Germany which provide scientific contributions. The participants from the EU13 states (EU13 fellows) and the German host institutions will thus be given the opportunity to gather practical experience, acquire and expand competencies, and to establish new or strengthen existing networks.

Suitable cooperation partners can be found via the Partnering Tool. Interested host institutions and potential EU13 Fellows may register their profile in this Partnering Tool.
Important: The Partnering Tool is an additional service offer. You may use existing contacts or search for potential host institutions or Fellows independently; registering in the partnering tool is not mandatory.

More information on the target group "science managers" is available in the FAQ section.

How does it work? Theory and practice

Guest stay: During their guest stay at a German science organisation or higher education institution, the EU13 fellows gather practical experience in science management. They will get in-depth insights and exchange views on scientific management procedures and processes on an expert level. Before a fellowship begins, a structured training concept will be agreed with the German host institution.

Campus weeks: In addition to the guest stay at a host organisation, the ERA Fellowships action also features a theoretical part. An attractive programme awaits the participants on campus: Structured in "thematic days" on, inter alia, knowledge transfer, EU research funding, or internationalisation, the campus weeks provide opportunities for learning, the exchange of experiences and intensive networking. German experts will lead discussions and study trips. As the campus weeks are part of the ERA Fellowships action, participation is obligatory for the EU13 fellows. Their partners from the German host organisations are also welcome to participate in principle and will be specially invited to specific campus days.

Campus week 1
Time period: February 2020
Venue: Bonn

Campus week 2
Time period: May 2020
Venue: Berlin

Information on venues, accommodation and programme will be made available in due course.

ERA Fellowships - Kurzüberblick

Im Rahmen der nationalen Strategie für den Europäischen Forschungsraum baut Deutschland die Zusammenarbeit mit den EU13-Ländern aus. Dazu gehören Bulgarien, Estland, Kroatien, Lettland, Litauen, Malta, Polen, Rumänien, die Slowakei, Slowenien, die Tschechische Republik, Ungarn und Zypern. Die Maßnahme "ERA Fellowships - Science Management" fördert den Kompetenzaufbau im Wissenschaftsmanagement und die nachhaltige Vernetzung zwischen den EU13 und deutschen außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen, Forschungsförderorganisationen oder Hochschulen.

Programmlaufzeit:
8 bis 12 Wochen (inklusive Campuswochen) ab dem 15. Januar bis 31. Oktober 2020, wobei die Gastaufenthalte in Deutschland bis zum 31. Mai 2020 abgeschlossen sein müssen.

Anzahl geförderter Gastaufenthalte:
maximal 30

Bewerbungsfrist:
Das Verfahren ist zweistufig angelegt. Die Projektskizzen sind von Gasteinrichtungen in Deutschland bis zum 3. Juli 2019 beim DLR Projektträger einzureichen. Nach erfolgter Evaluation werden die erfolgreichen Antragstellenden voraussichtlich im August zur Einreichung eines Vollantrags aufgefordert.
Die ausgewählten Gasteinrichtungen werden nach Abschluss des Auswahlverfahrens informiert.
Das Vorgehen und die Inhalte zum Bewerbungsverfahren sind in der Förderbekanntmachung zu ERA-Fellowships festgelegt.

Für wen ist es?

Zielgruppe sind Wissenschaftsmanagerinnen und -manager aus den EU13-Mitgliedstaaten und Deutschland des mittleren administrativen Managements aus Forschungs-, Forschungsförderorganisationen, Hochschulen und vergleichbare Institutionen, die Forschungsbeiträge liefern. Teilnehmende aus den EU13-Staaten ("EU13-Fellows" aus den Herkunftsinstitutionen) und den deutschen Gastinstitutionen bekommen dadurch die Möglichkeit, praktische Erfahrungen zu sammeln, Kompetenz auf- und auszubauen sowie Netzwerke aufzubauen und zu vertiefen.

Geeignete Kooperationspartnerinnen und -partner können auch über ein Partnering Tool gesucht und gefunden werden. Dazu tragen interessierte Gasteinrichtungen und EU13 Fellows ihr Profil im Partnering Tool ein.
Wichtig: Es handelt sich beim Partnering Tool um ein zusätzliches Service-Angebot. Bereits bestehende oder im Zuge eigener Recherchen selbst geknüpfte Kontakte können ebenso genutzt werden; die Anmeldung im Partnering Tool ist keine Pflicht.

Mehr Informationen zur Zielgruppe der "Science Manager" erhalten Sie unter "Häufig gestellte Fragen".
 

Was wird gemacht? Theorie und Praxis

Praxisaufenthalt: Die EU13-Fellows sammeln während eines Gastaufenthaltes an einer deutschen Wissenschaftseinrichtung oder Hochschule praktische Erfahrungen im Wissenschaftsmanagement. Sie können verschiedene Bereiche kennenlernen und tauschen sich mit Fachleuten über interne Organisationsabläufe, das Management von EU-Aktivitäten etc. aus. Ein strukturiertes Praxiskonzept wird im Vorfeld mit der deutschen Gasteinrichtung vereinbart.

Campuswochen: Zum Programm gehört neben dem praktischen Aufenthalt an einer Gasteinrichtung auch ein theoretischer Teil. In zwei Campuswochen wird ein attraktives Veranstaltungsprogramm geboten. Vorgesehen sind "Thementage", zum Beispiel zu Wissenstransfer, EU-Forschungsförderung oder Internationalisierungsstrategien, an denen unter Leitung von Fachleuten des deutschen Wissenschaftssystems Diskussionen, Präsentationen und Exkursionen stattfinden. Der interaktive Austausch steht im Vordergrund. Die Campuswochen bieten die Gelegenheit zu intensivem Netzwerken und sind fester Bestandteil des Programms. Die Teilnahme ist für die EU13 Fellows daher verpflichtend. Betreuende Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus den deutschen Gasteinrichtungen sind grundsätzlich auch zur Teilnahme an den Campuswochen willkommen. Sie werden speziell zu einzelnen Tagen des Programms eingeladen .

Campuswoche 1
Zeitraum: Februar 2020
Ort: Bonn

Campuswoche 2
Zeitraum: Mai 2020
Ort: Berlin

Hinweise zu Veranstaltungsorten, Unterbringung und Programm finden Sie zu gegebener Zeit auf diesem Portal.